Wordle, labrador, bygone days

[Update]: Sigh. Manny suspended for PEDs. Commence firestorm.

Today’s clash of AL West titans is set for 12:35, so I guess this can serve as a combination DLD, game thread, and postgame woe-fest orgy of jubilation.

Expert analysis (the kind you just don’t get at those mainstream blogs): Brandon McCarthy gives up lots of home runs. Unfortunately, the A’s do not hit home runs.

If you grow weary of throwing errors and strikeouts and Vince Cotroneo musing about how the team really needs someone to “step up and provide a spark”, go decipher some anagrams.

Wordle:

Labrador:

Labrador update:

Labrador update 2:

Labrador update 3:

Bygone days:

129 Responses to Wordle, labrador, bygone days

  1. salb918 says:

    You know that “Obama-Hope” blue-red poster? Has someone made a parody with a picture of Pope Benedict with the caption “Pope”?

    Also, is that question mark in the right place?

    Also, Lew Wolff looks just like the Pope.

  2. FreeSeatUpgrade says:

    Lost in the tide of ballpark “news” in the last 48 hours…Oakland planning groupie (acolyte? guru? gadfly?) Chris Kidd wrote up a plan for a new A’s park in Jingletown, a not-much-previously-suggested area along the Oakland side of the estuary across from Alameda, near the Fruitvale bridge.

    Chris makes some excellent points, and I like this idea, for two big reasons. First, as Chris notes, there is already a Specific Area Plan process underway there, which makes managing the zoning and enviro processes much, much easier. And second, which Chris does not so much mention, this is a site which could really gather unified Oakland political support fast. It’s in Ignacio’s district, and love him or hate him, having DLF on board brings political juice to bear. This could in turn make it appealing for Mayor-to-be-Perata, who has history not only in Oakland but in Alameda, and as such he could be critical in handling the island’s issues which would arise.

    The rest of Oakland’s structure–other CMs, Russo, and even the lame-duck-since-2007 incumbent Mayor, if you think he matters–would be quick to climb on board with a plan supported by Ignacio and Perata with a pre-existing blueprint for clearing the planning hurdles. This might not be my first choice for a park in Oakland (Broadway Auto Row my pipe dream, current Coli parking lot my accessible fave), but it would instantly become the most feasible plan in town, and that’s saying a lot.

    • monkeyball says:

      As I queried citypl**ner yesterday — what’s to motivate the current landowner to sell, and to sell at a “reasonable” price?

      • FreeSeatUpgrade says:

        I don’t know specifically, but guesses and Google suggest:

        1. The land is more valuable as a ballpark than as an industrial plant.

        2. Owens-Brockway recently got a State recycling grant to help build a new glass plant in Tracy.

        3. The current plant has long-running emissions issues with BAAQMD.

        4. The parent company has been taking on debt to fund acquisitions

        • monkeyball says:

          Interesting. Well, those all certainly do motivate them to sell — but 1 (+ perhaps 4) would seem to spell a high asking price.

        • citypl**ner says:

          Thanks, FSU. I hadn’t realized that Ownes Brockway was under such straits. Well, actually I was too lazy to look(we’ll just let that one slide…).
          More reason Owens Brockway might be induced to sell:
          -the specific plan is going to rezone the area drastically away from heavy industry. There will probably be greentech/biotech industry in the future, but heavy, polluting industries will be shuttled out for public health reasons for the increased residential density expected to be part of the specific plan.
          -the specific plan will also give the city and its agencies some bite to their bark when it comes to non-conforming uses within the specific plan. They can make Owens-Brockway’s life dificult.
          -the city could offer tax exemptions/incentives to Owens-Brockway to move their operation somewhere more suitable to the public health and more suitable to their operations (either West Oakland or the East Oakland Industrial Corridor)
          -In conjunction with tax incentives, the city could relocate Owens-Brockway to the Oakland Army Base, which would be free land since the city currently owns it.

          I could definitely see some Alameda NIMBY backlash, but combining local and regional political support along with removal of a major polluter from Alameda’s doorstep would do a lot to tamp that down.

    • citypl**ner says:

      I’m totally a groupie, BTW.

  3. salb918 says:

    Re: Manny.

    Shit, meet fan.

    • monkeyball says:

      The thing that’s going to make me the most unhappy about this situation will be the gloating by Red Sox fans.

    • mjdittmer says:

      Tell me about it. I was at last night’s Dodger game. Twice he came up with the bases loaded and the fans were chanting his name–it’s sort of a Rocky chant. And the second time, he came through with a double.

      I think the fans here will cheer for him again (I probably will), although it depends a little on how he handles the press conference. And whether he can hit worth a damn when he gets back.

      Maybe a good development to come out of this: it adds to the absurdity of a couple of commonly-held positions: first, that steroids are beneath contempt and anybody who touched them should be locked out of the Hall of Fame forever; and second, that performance-enhancing drugs don’t improve performance that much. And yes, I think both positions can be called absurd consistently.

      • monkeyball says:

        From what I can tell from the articles and Manny’s statement, I don’t think it was ‘roids. Maybe HGH — but I think Ritalin/Adderall is much more likely reading in between the lines.

        • 74mk says:

          They’re testing for Ritalin/Adderall?

          Don’t most players just cajole a friendly and/or indifferent doctor into diagnosing them with ADHD? Is it still illegal if it’s prescribed?

          • monkeyball says:

            They’re testing for speed.

            My understanding (corrections, please!) is that if you’re up-front with your “diagnosis” of ADD pre-testing and get an exemption, you’re in the clear. Manny being Manny, I can see him not following appropriate channels.

            • 5aces says:

              And the ironic thing is, if there is one person in MLB that I would assume has ADD, it would be Manny.

            • nevermoor says:

              I dunno. Manny can be Manny all he wants, but I don’t see Boras messing something like that up. Especially as Boras is a licensed pharmacist so he probably actually gave Manny whatever he took.

              • monkeyball says:

                I agree re Boras — but I also think that there’s only so much control Boras can exert over the totality of a player’s life, especially one as flakey as Manny.

          • andeux says:

            Yes, yes, and no. There have been a couple of articles about the absurd number of “therapeutic use” exemption. I linked to one here.

            • 74mk says:

              Have you read this?

              • andeux says:

                Yeah. I found that article a little odd. First of all because the author characterizes all these drugs as “cognitive enhancers” when AFAICT at least some of them are basically good old-fashioned speed.

                And second, I found this paragraph unconvincing:

                It makes no sense to ban the use of neuroenhancers. Too many people are already taking them, and the users tend to be educated and privileged people who proceed with just enough caution to avoid getting into trouble. Besides, Anjan Chatterjee is right that there is an apt analogy with plastic surgery. In a consumer society like ours, if people are properly informed about the risks and benefits of neuroenhancers, they can make their own choices about how to alter their minds, just as they can make their own decisions about shaping their bodies.

                Drug decriminalization may be a good idea, I don’t think that “rich people are going to do it anyway” is ever a good argument against a law.

                • 74mk says:

                  Agreed.

                  The aspect I found interesting was that people are using these drugs not to hyper-achieve, but simply to keep pace. Stimulants – for many students and white collar workers, anyway – are just another mechanism for coping with an always-on, continuous partial attention mode of living that renders us forever snowed under by tasks and information.

                  Also pernicious is our impulse to view every imperfection (be it shyness at parties or an inability to focus when tired or a modestly sized penis) as a malady to be cured.

              • nevermoor says:

                I had a friend in College who spent six months awake for 72 hours then asleep for 24 because of that stuff.

                It really isn’t harmless.

        • andeux says:

          I thought it took more than one positive test for speed to get a suspension that long. I’ve kind of lost track of the rules though.

        • Leopold Bloom says:

          Wait a minute. Seriously, if it were Adderall or Ritalin, wouldn’t Boras be going through the roof right now? It would seem to me that he’s call a press conference almost simultaneously with MLB and say this is bullshit, my client’s got an inhaler or has ADD, and the league is punishing him. Here are the results. Here’s the doctor that prescribed it, here are 17 certifying that he did not take steroids.

    • Sharon says:

      I wonder what he tested positive for…

    • 74mk says:

      1. I kind of like Manny. Though he is disgusting to look at, what with that enormous wad of charcoal-colored glop he’s always chewing.

      2. Bonds aside, Manny is easily the best hitter I’ve ever watched on a semi-regular basis.

      Top hitters in our lifetimes (assuming most of us are in our 20s/30s/40s, so since ~1970): Bonds, Manny, Pujols, A-Rod, Thomas …

      Who rounds out the top 10?

      • monkeyball says:

        1. I love Manny. Always have, always will.

        2. Ditto that.

        More top 10 candidates: Rickey, Brett, Schmidt, Alomar, Belle, Sheffield …

        • 74mk says:

          McGwire. Thome.

          • monkeyball says:

            I love Thome more than Manny.

            • Leopold Bloom says:

              never liked Thome. Manny’s kinda tough not to like, unless you just despised him for being a Red…um…Sock?

              A few to think about…Winfield, Tony Gwynn, Kirby Puckett, Junior pre-injuries, Rod Carew…Vlad?

              • monkeyball says:

                Never liked Thome? What’s wrong with you?

              • Leopold Bloom says:

                I always thought that Rickey was best baseball player I ever saw play. though even I must admit Bonds was incredible. The last time I saw him, it was in Oakland, I had just leaned over to my brother and said “Barry doesn’t look so good today,” literally as the “y” was leaving my mouth, he crushed it to right–one of those line drive shots that seems like it would go into the side of the hills were Mt. Davis not there.

              • andeux says:

                I find Manny pretty easy not to like.

          • mjdittmer says:

            Griffey. Sosa.

  4. monkeyball says:

    I used to call the old man funny names. “Iron Butt.” “Boner.” Once I even called him … “asshole.” But there was always respect. I always knew where the line was drawn. And you just stepped over it, buddy-boy. You’ve insulted me. And you’ve insulted this company with that bastard creation of yours.

  5. Sharon says:

    Seriously, I don’t understand much of what is being said about the Manny suspension. Maybe I should wait an hour to see what else is uncovered.

    head explodes

    • salb918 says:

      You’ve got the right idea.

      In the last hour, I’ve heard that they were/weren’t PEDs and that he did/didn’t test positive.

    • mjdittmer says:

      This from Ratto:

      Beyond that, we still know far too little either to anyone to comfortably condemn or exonerate Ramirez. ESPN’s early stance that Ramirez as a PED user is inconceivable cannot hold factually, because there are too few facts. Conversely, nobody can say, “Aha! Another cheater!” for the same reason.

      Not that that will stop many folks, mind you. We are not only vengeful, but we are also world-class conclusion-jumpers.

  6. mikeA says:

    I’m going to charter a plane and dump asterisks over the city of Boston.*

    *Comment only intended as expressing hatred of Sox.

    • mjdittmer says:

      I like this. Maybe instead of putting asterisks in the record books, they should put Pozterisks in there instead, and fill the record book with anecdotes.

      Also, apropos of nothing, a question for LB: Should I be interested in David Foster Wallace? All I know about him is that he killed himself–that’s kind of interesting.

      • Leopold Bloom says:

        DFW, we hardly knew ye!

        (and MB’s very glad about that)

      • FreeSeatUpgrade says:

        DFW is fuckin’ brilliant. Start light with the essays in A Supposedly Fun Thing I’ll Never Do Again before tackling to Infinite Jest.

      • 74mk says:

        Three non-fiction pieces to start with:

        Federer as Religious Experience

        Host

        Consider the Lobster

      • Leopold Bloom says:

        Monkey would say no. I own Infinite Jest. I like tangential writing. If tangential writing annoys you or it’s just not your thing, I’d advise to steer clear. He was not what you’d call focused. Or, if you strongly disagree with that, his planned unfocusedness was very successful.

        I prefer Klosterman to either DFW or Dave Eggers, but I find both of them interesting enough to have read.

        Ultimately, if we’re talking “the canon” (which is a vile, disgusting, but ultimately real aspect of literature), I’m afraid he’s more Salieri than Wolfgang. He’s also victim of writing a book so cumbersome as to appeal to a certain group of people who like to read things in order to appear hip. Pompous fucking windbags.

        So, have any of you read Finnegans Wake, then?

        • nevermoor says:

          I thought the first half of “Heartbreaking…” was good and it really dropped off afterwards. I was given “Velocity” as a gift and couldn’t bring myself to finish it.

          • Leopold Bloom says:

            Like I said, interesting. I’m not sure I’m really interested in delving further with either. But I have heard real good things (including those above) about DFW’s shorter works. Maybe controlling the space would help with that fucker.

        • mjdittmer says:

          Well, I’m glad you main the reference, since though it flew way over my head at first, it produced all the recommendations above, yours included.

          I like tangential stuff. I think that’s one of the things I liked about Gary Radnich when I was in the Bay Area to listen to him–his willingness to go off on tangents. FSU actually turned me on to Klosterman a couple years ago. I also prefer him to Eggers.

          As for cumbersome books, my claim to being a PFW is having read the story of the day you met Daedalus. But FW? No, the air is too rare; I dare not try that summit.

          • Leopold Bloom says:

            Hey Ulysses ain’t no joke.

            But FW is. It’s eighteen years in the making, I’m living on your dime, I’ll revise and revise and revise and revise again, until what I’m saying is either indecipherable or profound or maybe both. But I will insure my immortality in this strange way, even though I JUST FUCKING WROTE THE SEMINAL 20th CENTURY TEXT.

            He was basically long in making his Jackie Brown. And he died before he got to Kill Bill. And screw you, Monkey, I like them. Both of them.

            • mjdittmer says:

              You’ve kind of got to like them, especially if you’ve taken the time to read them. I didn’t know Joyce made mb’s long list of “meh”, but I’m surprised to hear it, since Joyce is, as you note above, someone who likes lots of allusions and oblique references; now that I mention it, mb kind of reminds me of him.

              Two other things:
              1) Joyce is attacked as a snob who wrote for elitists and could only be appreciated by upper-crust intellectuals–only by the people who wanted to appreciate him in this manner and failed to do so. That group of offended tried-to-enjoy-Joyce-but-couldn’t people has got to be a pretty tiny percentage of society as a whole, a tiny enough percentage that they’re probably intellectual snobs in their own right. I mean, they all probably learned to enjoy Shakespeare in high school or college on their way to trying Joyce, and that in and of itself makes them intellectual snobs in the eyes of a much larger percentage of society–America’s nonreading majority.

              2) What do you mean when you say “the canon”? What is vile and disgusting about it?

    • asfaninla says:

      Sounds like a great idea. Let me donate to the cause:

      *****************************************************

  7. monkeyball says:

    Annals of poor copyediting:

    Police say they caught a married county official having sex with another woman on the sidewalk in the Detroit suburb of Novi.

    “Yeah, we caught him having sex with a woman on the sidewalk last month, and now with another one.”

    • Leopold Bloom says:

      It’s a small, but well-documented fetish: sidewalk fucking.

      He’s ruined his career behind it.

  8. mikeA says:

    Random memory: I recall being sort of scandalized as a 6 or 7 year old when Canseco got arrested for speeding. Now I wonder what he took that enabled him to break 100 mph.

  9. 74mk says:

    Free Kraut tagline: Searching for Value in Ludicrous Ideas

    The illustrated “inventions” behind the link are simultaneously insane and fantastic. A sampling:

    Anyone who ever left the house without eating breakfast will appreciate his dashboard toaster oven. (Another feature, the Automobile Snack Conveyer, allows you to deliver that toast to your kid in the back seat.)

    […]

    Automobile Abandonment Zones intuit the very contemporary possibility of commuters fleeing gridlock for a nearby train, willingly relinquishing their keys to Abandonment Officers.

    […]

    A very small apartment might house the Hide-a-Shower, a sofa that can be upended for bathing.

    • Leopold Bloom says:

      I like the hide-a-shower idea.

      Those little prefab houses–the ones made out of storage containers and the like, always strike something in me…Buddhist longings for redwood NorCal living and simplicity.

      I loved The Fifth Element for Bruce Willis’s apartment.

    • Leopold Bloom says:

      Landfill Surprise?!

      Mush like the Madeline, the very words bring back a flood of memories. Mom, in the kitchen, cooking up new, glorious, mysterious batch of Landfill Surprise, her specialty. Was it meat and if so, what kind of meat?

  10. batgirl says:

    just for mikeA

    Meantime, Stanford basketball and football coaches don’t have Twitter accounts, and Cal athletic department officials say accounts on the free social networking site are in the works for some of their coaches.

  11. salb918 says:

    Swine flu! Steroids! Thesis! Pakistan!

  12. mjdittmer says:

    A future-of-newspapers observation: the LA Times is being credited for breaking this story, but there is no place on the story-page for reader-feedback, nor can that be found on the LA Times sports section main page.

    I figured the Chronicle was behind-the-times in having just started its columnists doing sports blogs over the last few months, but apparently the Times is even further behind. Or is that a newsroom philosophy choice–choosing to keep one’s writers out of the fray, so they at least have to click a few links to find the place where they see their own articles smeared by readers?

  13. salb918 says:

    Jason Whitlock, Craig Calcaterra, Steve Goldman, Danny Knobler, and now Murray Chass have all taken Selena Roberts to task on her A-Rod book

    Roberts has written a book about Alex Rodriguez, and it is a journalistic abomination. That phrase probably won’t appear in any advertisement for the book, but it should to alert prospective readers what they would be getting.

    Roberts and I were once colleagues at The New York Times, and I can’t say she established that credibility. She also didn’t strike me as being a top-flight reporter. As a result, I don’t feel I can trust her book full of anonymous sources. Even if every single A-Rod transgression she reports is accurate, it’s too easy for her to write one former teammate said this and another player said that.

    Had she written these same reports for the Times, very little would have made it into the paper. I’m not familiar with Sports Illustrated’s standards, but I hope they’re higher than the Roberts book offers. Actually, if you remove the quotes and other information that Roberts attributes to anonymous sources in the 246-page book, it might be left with 46 pages.

  14. xbhaskarx says:

    Jose Canseco wins again.

  15. batgirl says:

    Did he just say Ben Vereen sang the National Anthem?

  16. monkeyball says:

    David Simon … (wait for it): The Wire of media critics

Leave a comment