This Dailiment Condilink Brump … didn’t suck until all these new people showed up

Yeah, that’s right, I’m leading off with not one, but two Barry Bonds links! Fuck you all! Schulman plays clueless, Baggarly comes closer; but I think the reason Bonds refuses to retire is that he’s got a shrewd PR rep, and they’re pushing his HoF eligibility out beyond the realm of fresh ‘roid ire.

See, I told you this Dailiment Condilink Brump already sucks.

Ellis and Nomar already off the active roster; no one replaced them yet.

XbX edit
New people: email Sal [you can email me, mikeA, instead (no link, go to my profile yourselves lazy asses)], get access, start commenting, show off your amazing vocabulary, ask to be added to the Krauthor list, post a bunch of self congratulatory gibberish, tell ** we’re elitist pricks.
Lather, rinse, repeat. Do not taunt Happy Fun Ball. Users caught handling salmon in suspicious circumstances will be prosecuted to the full extent of law, unless you have written guidance from OLC delineating the manner in which your suspicious salmon-handling did not violate domestic statutes and international treaties to which FK is a signatory. Also, politics. [actually, politics are kind of ok (or at least ok-er than on **) as long as you aren’t an engorged clown phallus about it. -Nm] [Actually, Nm, there ARE NO RULES. And way to miss my Sarah Palin reference. Also. @(‘.’)@] [FK: the 90’s UFC of A’s blogs]

Okay, maybe not all of that was XbX’s edit.

Aw HELLZ no.  Why do people have to email me? — salb918

You drew are the short straw -xbx

d
Why is there a “d” at the bottom now?

118 Responses to This Dailiment Condilink Brump … didn’t suck until all these new people showed up

  1. FreeSeatUpgrade says:

    No, I suspect Bonds won’t officially retire because his attorneys believe that continuing to call himself an active, available player bolsters their claim that MLB is colluding to deny Barry gainful employment. What Bonds deems his own status to be is irrelevant to his five year Hall of Fame clock.

    • salb918 says:

      Bingo. I think this is the most likely explanation. Like Canseco, I think Bonds wants baseball to push him out while there’s evidence that he can still contribute. Bonds was 6th in the NL in OPS (>1.000!) in 2007 and couldn’t find work in 2008. Incredible.

      In Canseco’s last year, he posted a .843 OPS.

    • monkeyball says:

      Mm, you could be right, but I suspect that Barry’s collusion suit (justifiable as it may be) is akin to Portland/Charlotte/Vegas/Mexico City (boy is that not happening now!) for team owners — a quasi-plausible threat to get what he wants. Which, I suspect, at this late date, isn’t actual contracted playing time.

  2. nevermoor says:

    Dammit, why does everything already suck?

  3. Poppy says:

    Fuck, I guess it took me too long to type mine.

  4. Poppy says:

    From the I’ll Believe It When I See It files: Justin Duchscherer thinks he’ll be ready to pitch in about a month.

    From the Yeah, That Sucked Ass files: Injuries. Then some injuries. Oh, and injuries.

    “We were like, ‘What’s going on?’ ” said infielder Bobby Crosby. “I didn’t even start this game, how is everyone getting hurt?”

    (Okay, I might have added that last part of the quote myself. Bobby didn’t say that.)

    From sfgate’s Mommy Files, which I sometimes read just to see what silly crap better moms than me are wringing their hands over and/or bragging about: “Star Wars”: Will it warp and/or traumatize your preschooler? (pay attention, sal).

    One of my favorite parts: “I checked the age rating on the Common Sense Media Web site, a Bay Area nonprofit that helps parents navigate media. They recommend A New Hope, Empire Srikes Back, The Return of the Jedi, and Clone Wars for 8-year-olds and over. Attack of the Clones and Phantom Menace for 10-year-olds and over.”

    I beg to differ. The last three are not recommended for anybody.

    • salb918 says:

      Re: Star Wars.

      Fuck. That. Shit.

      I saw that blog a few days ago and I asked mrs. salb918 what age she thought was appropriate. She thought it might be too scary for a four year old. I’m pretty sure my kid could handle it now. He loves watching Warner Brothers cartoons with me, which are totally dark, violent, and racist (his favorite episode is “Bully for Bugs,” which always elicits very loud “Moo!”s from salb918 jr).

      He can handle a little light saber amputation.

  5. Poppy says:

    Now I’m going to miss my train and I’ll have to drive to school, all because I had to take the extra time to delete my dump after copying it to here as a comment. So monkeyball is responsible for global warming (like we didn’t already know that).

  6. Sharon says:

    I’m officially the ghost of free kraut because no one can see this post.

  7. monkeyball says:

    The A’s have now officially been diagnosed as infected with the H2N3 virus.

  8. bbenny says:

    AKA Buck Turgidson

    Ah ha! I don’t know what I thought happened to you people. I guess figured you were too busy to post about your favorite club. Silly.

    I’ll probably just lurks some more, but I’m sending Sal an email anyway.

    Nice.

  9. whiteshoes40 says:

    The italics, they hurt my eyes…

  10. monkeyball says:

    Sal, are you still hearing the evolutionary biology lectures from the black helicopters?

  11. FreeSeatUpgrade says:

    Oakland City Attorney John Russo lays out the recent history of the A’s efforts to put Oakland in their rearview mirror.

    Russo’s a sharp guy, very adept at speaking out on matters which tap into the public mood in a timely way. Which as a politician is easy to do when you don’t ever actually have to make any hard decisions.

    • salb918 says:

      Interesting.

      What’s Lew’s angle here? Get the concomitant real estate development and then sell the team?

      • FreeSeatUpgrade says:

        I don’t think that’s his goal, though I suspect he’d gladly settle for that at this point.

        I think his minority partnership agreement probably includes incentives for a successful ballpark (either a heightened ownership share OR a sweetened buyout deal), and disincentives for failure (like a forced buyout on Fisher’s terms). Lew probably perceived from his pre-ownership days that entanglements with Oakland would ultimately not bear fruit, but would likely get in the way of a ballpark somewhere else that could be both more feasible and more profitable. And I don’t think he was wrong in that perception five years ago, though the economic nosedive may have since made Oakland less of a pipedream and a southern park less feasible.

        • monkeyball says:

          I’d amend “successful ballpark” to “maximally long-term revenue-enhancing ballpark”; mere “success” in developing a fast and/or cheap and/or few-barriers-to-shovel-ready and/or politically feasible and/or satisficing stadium wasn’t why Lew was brought on board.

          I’m agreeing with you, just gilding the lily.

          • FreeSeatUpgrade says:

            Absolutely. And given those definitions it’s pretty clear how, to Wolff, “successful ballpark” and “Oakland” are mutually exclusive.

            I am not convinced, though, that young Fisher sees it the same way.

  12. Jennifer says:

    This feels like a family reunion. Someone pass the fluffy salad.

    Okay, who deleted sal’s comment about Sharon’s blank comment that was also deleted? We need to lock the back door. I feel violated.

  13. monkeyball says:

    Alright, who broke FK?

  14. monkeyball says:

    The intersection of the word fuck and the law

    Really needs some scare-quotes there.

  15. Sharon says:

    So this is where everyone has been hanging out. I’ve missed you all!

  16. FreeSeatUpgrade says:

    Listen, FKwits: I’ve been watching Lost on DVD, finally. I’ll finish Season Three tonight. So if anyone has anything to say about the fate of Charlie, Locke, or anything else, please use the html code for invisible text. Thanks.

  17. xbhaskarx says:

    Both ArakSOT and Sharon show up over the last few days. What year is this?
    And who will be next? jubjub? OaktownTribesman?

  18. MikeTheV says:

    anybody figure out a widescreen format for WP yet? Because really, it sucks without it.

    • nevermoor says:

      Patience. After this weekend things should be less klud.. awkw.. ba.. ungood.

    • monkeyball says:

      We could only spring for the vhs pan-‘n’-scan version.

      • salb918 says:

        shoulda done FK in betamax

        • xbhaskarx says:

          These people wouldn’t know high definition if it sat on their lap and called them momma.

          • salb918 says:

            I devote about an hour per day to researching the obtuse references in your posts.

            • 74mk says:

              xbhaskarx: often abtruse, rarely obtuse.

              Your vocabulary blunders are wrecking Free Kraut’s elitist image. Stick to posting about long division and test tubes, Staty McStaten.

              [74mk edit]: Foiled by my low IQ yet again. They keep telling me it doesn’t matter, it’s just a test, there are all sorts of problematic socioeconomic biases built in, etc., but I’m starting to think that if I knew all that stuff about which triangle is unlike the other and what number sequence is missing and whatnot, I wouldn’t fatally undermine my already lame blog comment witticisms with crucial misspellings.

              • monkeyball says:

                As are your spelling errors/typos.

                I’d also quibble with your epithet formation: as with “Chavvy,” “Statty McStatten” requires double consonants to maintain the short vowel sounds.

              • salb918 says:
                     you
                     ------
                jump|lake
                
                • monkeyball says:

                  74mk is the kindest, bravest, warmest, most wonderful KRAUThor I’ve ever known in my life.

                  • nevermoor says:

                    And yet I’d shank him to save the $$$

                    fsu: By which he means, How about passing the time by playing a little solitaire?

  19. salb918 says:

    Dellums/Wolff meeting interrupted:

    Talk of the Oakland A’s departing for the South Bay got the alarm bells sounding over at Oakland City Hall – literally.

    Mayor Ron Dellums recently invited A’s owner Lew Wolff to City Hall for a sit-down over the team’s future. Problem was, no sooner did the meeting convene than the building’s alarm sounded for a planned fire drill.

    Dellums and Wolff – along with City Administrator Dan Lindheim and about a dozen other team and city staffers – were last seen hoofing it through Frank Ogawa Plaza for refuge at the neighboring Caffé Verbena.

    And we hear, the talks didn’t get much better from there.

    Like pulling a fire alarm during the final exam.

  20. xbhaskarx says:

    Twitter Causing Swine-Flu Panic

    Twitter is being criticized for spreading panic about swine flu. This is not just knee-jerk Luddism 2.0: it’s argued that Twitter’s structure encourages ill-informed repetition, with little room for context, while older Web media use their power for good — for instance Google’s Flu Trends page, and the introduction of a Google swine flu map.

    I’m in favor of a Twit Quarantine.

    • monkeyball says:

      1. Never question TDF when he’s been reading the spoor trail
      2. Who gets dropped from the 40-man? Herrera? Gray? I guess Crosby or Chavez would be too much to hope for?

  21. salb918 says:

    Condilink reminds me of Condaleeza.

  22. batgirl says:

    Poppy–it’s a go–check your email when you get a chance.

  23. the dogfather says:

    It’ll be a Dog Day’s Night on Friday, July 17. Tickets now available. My Genghis has been an A’s fan since Lou Seal dissed him at the Giaunts’ first dog day at the Big Phoney.

  24. FreeSeatUpgrade says:

    Derby field set, Daily Racing Form past performances here. great field, no obvious favorite means lots of fun for bettors. At first glance I’m liking Friesan Fire among the faves and Musket Man as a good value longshot. But I have much work to do before laying any bets.

    Between now and Saturday I will:

    1. Re-read, as I do every year, Hunter S. Thompson’s seminal “The Kentucky Derby is Decadent and Depraved,” one of the greatest pieces of American sportswriting ever.

    2. Analyze the field, make tenuous associations between each horse and an A’s player, and prepare a convoluted Back Your Pony post for Friday or Saturday; and

    3. Drink so many mint juleps that any outcome will be fine. I made my julep syrup last night.

Leave a comment