All Hail the Monkey Overlord!

All things equal, we could do a lot worse in this world.

Y'ar, ya scurvy dogs!  I'll be havin' those bananas and any 10 weight ye be holdin'...

Y'ar, ya scurvy dogs! I'll be havin' those bananas and any 10 weight ye be holdin'...

My, what a funny caption. It reminds me of something else…can’t quite place it…

96 Responses to All Hail the Monkey Overlord!

  1. the dogfather says:

    Sometimes having only an eight-weight can be a good thing.

    Just ask Jack Hannahan.

  2. 74mk says:

    Free Kraut is sparsely populated on weekends.

    Extrapolations:

    1. We all have fascinating and/or frantic home lives.
    2. We are all terrible employees (or students, as the case may be).

    Glen Kuiper, Friday night: “It all started with a bj …”

    Now, he may or may not have followed that with “… Upton strikeout”, but that is entirely superfluous to my point, which is that this needs to be made into a ringtone, ASAP.

    Speaking of Kuiper: Listening to the radio broadcast yesterday, I felt so much more engaged with the game than when I endure his half-assed sub-mediocrity on the television side. The broadcasters (even Vince and Ray) were doing totally ingenious things like describing the action, providing context, and breaking down player performance with a modicum of sophistication. And hey, it makes a difference! Who knew?

    Kuiper actively alienates me, such that my irritation with him overwhelms my enjoyment of the game. Until mlb tv comes through with the promised “radio audio / tv video” functionality, I’m sticking to Korach and Cotroneo.

    • Leopold Bloom says:

      I’ve thought of doing that this afternoon. My brother is actually coming over to my house today to watch the game with me. Of course, being a Tampa-area NRAF, I’ve got to listen to the Rays pxp guys, one of whom sounds enough like Skip Caray that I’m usually okay. The Rays television guys aren’t bad. But I prefer the dulcetuous tones of KK…I wonder if there’s any chance in hell of it lining up right…

      • the dogfather says:

        Can you get the A’s radio b/c on the web?

        • Leopold Bloom says:

          Oh most certainly. I get that even if they’re here. But if they’re playing the Rays (or the Marlins), the game on Comcast is blacked out, whether they’re home or away.

      • Leopold Bloom says:

        The fact that the VU version was the one by which I came to know that song makes your version much more creepy. I think that’s textbook ironic, no?

  3. monkeyball says:

    “Stinkfest”? Outhouse races? Hmmm … you know, I did spend several formative years in Bradford, playing pull-string commode….

  4. xbhaskarx says:

    What happened, I thought Eveland wasn’t going to issue walks anymore?

  5. monkeyball says:

    That’s it, Buck — no catch on that play, it’s the bench for you again!

  6. 74mk says:

    Sigh.

    manager Bob Geren described him as “day-to-day.”

    • monkeyball says:

      The commenters at sfgate are assholes, but not wrong in this case.

      • Leopold Bloom says:

        So, in theory, if we pull the plug on Chavez, we keep Hannahan full-time, and platoon him with Crosby/Nomar/Cabrera?

        • monkeyball says:

          Since the M’s are playing too well to trade Beltre right now, yes.

        • 74mk says:

          Nomar will be injured again soon, so you’re looking at a Crosby/Hannahan platoon at third. It’s inevitable.

          Let’s stipulate that Hannahan is really good defensively. Let’s also (for fun) assume that with a bit of repetition Crosby can convert his SS skills/range into quality defense at 3B. Lots of former shortstops excel defensively at less demanding positions, right?

          So: how well would that platoon have to hit in order for it to be league average-ish? And is that (the hitting well enough part) even a semi-reasonable possibility?

          • Leopold Bloom says:

            It’s not pretty, but we will also have Giambi/Holliday/Cust this year as opposed to duck/duck/Cust. I don’t think offense will be nearly the concern last year was.

      • Poppy says:

        But “overrated bum?” That’s overly harsh. (And no, I’m not referring to his ass.)

  7. monkeyball says:

    Reading between the lines, Giambi is advising Buck about HGH?

  8. monkeyball says:

    Oo! I’m diggin’ that tote bag.

  9. xbhaskarx says:

    I hate how Eveland always shakes his arms at the elbow.
    Whenever I see a pitcher do that I think he’s having arm discomfort.

  10. monkeyball says:

    color me distinctly unimpressed with holliday thus far

  11. monkeyball says:

    Speaking of promotions … I think I’ve figured out the logic behind these guys sponsoring this giveaway: when you use the cooler to hold a 12-pack and then drive home, the cooler will already be chilled so that the EMTs can remove and transport your organs for transplant right at the scene.

  12. Poppy says:

    Jack F. Hannahan.

  13. the dogfather says:

    Those of you with summer plans that don’t include The Ports, please note.

    You will be able to recognize the locals as the well-dressed hikers with their walking sticks firmly stuck up their butts.

  14. monkeyball says:

    And if anyone knows about fleecing A’s fans, it’s Comcast!

  15. monkeyball says:

    VICTORY CABBAGE

  16. Leopold Bloom says:

    Um, is that revolution occurring at **?

    • xbhaskarx says:

      The revolution will be liveblogged.

      Are you talking about the front page thread? I haven’t read it yet, I just tossed out a non-sequitur and went back to watching Breaking Bad…

      “Better Call Saul!”

      • Leopold Bloom says:

        Entry into Hyde Park says it won’t be televised.

        The front page blog with your non-sequitur and the fanpost about the Raiders. Seems to be a ton of dissension still, even with the majority of us here.

        • 5aces says:

          I read a little bit of both of those. The Raider one (at least the very beginning) seemed like the old “get off of my yard” rants for a post that would pop up every now and then.

          The front page one does seem to have more of the dissension, but I don’t know if I really see the point anymore. It is what it is, and it has been made clear that a certain train is leaving the station. It took me almost getting fired at two different places to learn that, at some point, you have to just understand when change is occuring and either accept it for what it is or move on.

          • soaker says:

            In the Internet forum context, I’ve been a part of breakaways a couple of times. It’s tough to completely cut ties with the old place but that’s been the best course of action. I’d rather focus (positive) energy on shaping the new community to my liking. If one felt the need to break away from the previous community, well, one has negative attitudes toward that community which will inevitably be reflected in one’s continued participation there.

        • xbhaskarx says:

          { starts jotting down names for “the next wave” }

    • 5aces says:

      I don’t think so because the revolution probably could not begin until the fallen hero returns from his 30 days on Elba. And of course, the revolution will not be televised…

      • Leopold Bloom says:

        I don’t think that fallen hero’s returning.

        • 5aces says:

          I think that makes sense. If it was me, I would have immediately deleted the favorite link and be done with it.

          And I didn’t realize until I read your reply that I called him that. I guess someone should point out that just because he fell it certianly does not make him a hero…

    • xbhaskarx says:

      Whoa, was this info known already?

      And I’m not an admin any more. I do gameday threads but I don’t moderate on AN.

  17. salb918 says:

    Wow, that place is a f—in’ train wreck

Leave a comment