DLD 04/14/2009

So many things about last night’s win.

  • Jason Varitek must have forgotten who was chugging toward the plate. I’m not sure if I’ve ever seen such as a half-assed attempt at block and tag at home plate. How long before the Red Sox front office starts a whisper campaign against Captain Cambridge?
  • related_rates1
    fundamentals

  • Giambi…if you didn’t get on base so damned much (.452 OBP), you wouldn’t have to run the bases. Your choice.
  • On the other hand, maybe Ryan Sweeney and Orlando Cabrera should just forget about getting on base at all.
  • Speaking of Giambi, great job going the other way twice last night. Bay was definitely caught off-guard, and while he’s not a douchebag of the highest Red Sockian order, the faceplant was a nice touch for A’s partisans everywhere.
  • canadian-fail

  • At least the other Red Sox corner outfielder can catch the ball. Oh, wait.
  • boras_fail

    • Rajai Davis and Jack Cust have a few things in common: can’t bunt, can’t play defense, can’t run the bases intelligently, will often strike out looking, can’t beat out double play grounders. But Jack Cust is huge and hits home runs and gets on base 55% of the time, and Rajai Davis is fast and…is fast.

    139 Responses to DLD 04/14/2009

    1. xbhaskarx says:

      ToneMatrix.

      New A’s theme song:
      98304,114688,126976,97792,16338,4086,3198,3100,3192,4080,16328,65080,126976,114872,98472,33000

      (right click to copy and paste)

      • xbhaskarx says:

        Some more:
        1214,127274,16924,111744,574,264,1214,123136,21052,124042,572,256,1196,127274,21018,107648

        1920,6240,9744,16648,32900,32900,65666,65794,66050,66562,33796,33796,16904,8592,6240,1920

        66052,0,33352,0,8336,0,67616,0,17440,16,65800,0,16912,0,32776,32776

    2. xbhaskarx says:

      Jason Bay is not a douchebag.

      YET.

    3. xbhaskarx says:

      Is anyone else annoyed that Yankees fans discovered Nick Swisher has a personality yesterday?

      • monkeyball says:

        No:

        1. Personality is irrelevant

        2. Nick Swisher’s personality is reallly annoying

        3. That Yankee fans are only discovering it now, after one hot week following an offseason when they all wanted to trade him for ha’-pennies on the penny, provides another data point on the “Yankees fans are clueless, front-running douchebags” graph

        • xbhaskarx says:

          I agree, but I’m afraid he will hit well and become the Yanks’ mini-Manny.

          Look how excited their fans were when Giambi grew a freaking mustache.

          • sslinger says:

            Holy crap, I didn’t realize he actually pitched in that game last night. That is pretty funny. As for his personality, he may be a bit over the top at times but I think his exuberance is generally a good thing.

            • FreeSeatUpgrade says:

              Ditto. I give hefty FSU Fan Bonus Points to players whose personality or intellect interests me. Comrade Cabrera with his highbrow reading habits, for instance, has endeared himself to me and earned 10 extra FSUFBPs. And Swisher’s engaging ebulliousness wins him, I’ll say, 7 FSUFBPs.

              Now, Nick Swisher plus 1,000 FSUFBPs is still << A-Rod w/o any extras. But still, all other things being equal, give me the smart/quirky/interesting player any time.

              • salb918 says:

                Scott Hatteberg. Andrew Brown. Bobby Kielty. And now, Dallas Braden.

                • andeux says:

                  Ziegler.
                  74mk is right that “the ** sycophancy” is a strike against him, but it is more than made up for by:
                  1) He’s a submariner (c.f. Chad Bradford)
                  2) He came out of nowhere (not even on the 40-man roster last spring) to set a scoreless innings streak
                  3) Two count ’em two skull fractures
                  4) He has a degree in math.

                  Let’s face it, the guy has awesomeness to spare.

                • nevermoor says:

                  This guy? Pure non-silly class.

              • xbhaskarx says:

                Wouldn’t Swisher end up below zero if you add the intellect points to the personality points?

            • batgirl says:

              Me too. I very much enjoy Swisher. I caught only a snippet of his pitching last night–I hope I can catch more full highlights for a laugh.

              The more NY fans embrace him, probably the more annoyed I’ll get. Not at him, at them. Because they’ll probably think he had to come to NY to blossom on the grandest of stages, blah blah barf.

              • nevermoor says:

                The side-arm part was truly spectacular.

                As was the strikeout.

              • monkeyball says:

                Yeah, I dunno — to me, Swish is just a cornpone Canseco (minus, presumably … maybe … the steroids).

                The pitching thing, especially, seems stupid on so many levels — I would have greatly enjoyed the howls of Yankee fan frustration if Swish had done the full Jose and injured himself while pitching, after the week he’s had and the fans deigning to reconsider him.

        • Leopold Bloom says:

          I always liked Swisher, but he now plays for the Yankees. The monkey is right. Fuck Swisher. And fuck Jason Bay, while we’re here. He plays for the Red Sox, not the Pirates. Fuck him. Right in his stupid Sox ear hole.

      • salb918 says:

        The same way the Sox plucked Keith Foulke out of obscurity and installed him as a world-beating closer. Seriously, I will never understand how Sox fans believed that a guy with 48 saves and a 2.08 ERA the year before was “breaking out” in his first year in Boston.

    4. salb918 says:

      I just watched the replay of Braden striking out Youkilis. Awesome pitch, and his subsequent Mark Fidrych impression was icing on the cake.

    5. green star oakland says:

      Incidentally isn’t the DLD concept your intellectual property Sal? I hope you’re getting residuals.

    6. mikeA says:

      I bet Cust is a better bunter than Rajai.

    7. green star oakland says:

      Did anyone ask Geren about Sweeney and Cabrera’s back-to-back failed steal attempts ? Do they have the green light, or was this his call ?

    8. monkeyball says:

      Uh-oh. Who on ** should we have invited?

      I hate you people for leaving me out of so many fun things

    9. monkeyball says:

      {snerk}

      I think she had at least one great performance in her

      (Of course, I agree with Drew about Rabid.)

    10. mikeA says:

      Beckett suspended six games.

      7. ?Donde esta Dagoberto Campaneris? Posted: April 14, 2009 at 02:56 PM (#3137824)
      I think MLB missed a clear opportunity for an epic California Penal League joke, but other than that, this seems pretty reasonable.

      I would have suggested having Beckett wear a huge “D” indicating ######### on his uniform for the remainder of the season. However, increasingly, the Red Sox uniform itself is clear enough.

    11. whiteshoes40 says:

      This DLD is beautiful.

      Also, I was reminded last night why I don’t usually go to games against the Red Sox. Their fans are obnoxious. And obnoxiously loud. Luckily, most of them left before the game was over. Everything was much better after that.

    12. green star oakland says:

      Just for old times’ sake.

      • whiteshoes40 says:

        Good times.

        Have I mentioned how much I love the little snapshot link preview thing? Because I love it a lot. I keep trying to use it on other sites, and then I’m sad, because they’re not as awesome as FK.

        • nevermoor says:

          Really? I find the “feature” annoying because it gets in the way when I’m trying to actually go to the page.

          • whiteshoes40 says:

            I kind of use it as a substitute for actually going to the linked page, or to see if I do want to click on the link. So when I’m at work, like I am now, I don’t have a million random windows to close/minimize when someone walks by my computer…

    13. MikeTheV says:

      Delwyn Young was DFA’d by the Dodgers. He’s like Rajai Davis, but not so terrible. Flyer on him?

    14. 74mk says:

      1. “Go have some fun and please respect other people’s privacy.”

      2. An assault on fan loyalty, employing the Ship of Theseus paradox:

      So essentially, to say you are a “real” sports fan – the kind of red-blooded American who lives and dies for your team – is to admit that you throw your heart and soul behind a constantly shifting amorphous blob that has no persistent identity. And those fair-weather fans you look down on? They’re the rational ones.

      3. Essay and photo gallery from TNR, dating back many decades.

      From 1983:

      Former Senator Eugene McCarthy argues that baseball is becoming too sensitive and polite, as evidenced by several incidents in the early ’80s (including one with George Brett and a pine tar bat, pictured left):

      “Talk is dangerous in baseball, and it always has been. Today, however, mere gestures can get players, managers, umpires, and others on the baseball field into trouble. This was not always so. The sensitivity level of baseball personnel seems to have reached a new high. Feelings, it seems, are easily hurt. Psychological damage threatens.”

      • nevermoor says:

        The flaw in the Ship of Theseus comparison is that the ship of Theseus was (I imagine) revered because it was Theseus’ ship (rather than because it was otherwise a nice ship). Thus, any replacement planks with no connection to Theseus clearly have no connection to the merit of the item.

        When teams change players, however, the new players also have value. As an easy example, I care about how Cahill/Anderson do this year rather than dismiss them for not being on the teams I first rooted for. What’s more, caring about Cahill/Anderson strikes me as rational.

        That said, caring about winning is rational too, and so his point about fair-weather fans stands. I just don’t know if there is as much pleasure to be derived from following frontrunners as there is living through the ups and down of one team. I certainly don’t think so. I also think that rooting for the laundry (lets call it tribalism) may or may not be rational, either way it is so examining its rationality doesn’t get us very far.

        • 74mk says:

          I agree, with this part especially:

          I just don’t know if there is as much pleasure to be derived from following frontrunners as there is living through the ups and down of one team.

          He also focuses far too obsessively on player transience, while ignoring connection to place and the tug of personal history.

          I’m semi-fascinated by fan psychology. I wish I could find a discussion of it that didn’t make me angry and frustrated, like Leopold Bloom’s football fucking monkey.

          On an unrelated note, I think I may have unwittingly scarfed down several moldy chocolate mini-donuts that will now settle in the bottom of my stomach until 2026.

          While pausing for breath after donut #4, I noticed a strange white residue coating the bottom of the uneaten donuts. Up close, it resembles paper after you tear tape off. Complicating matters, the “sell by” date on the box has been suspiciously obscured by the price tag. I tore the sticker off, but recklessly, so the mystery persists: the year might be 2008, it might be 2009. It might be 2004.

          Problematic.

          • mikeA says:

            scarfing down mini-donuts=you’re really trying your best to bring into existence the future dehumanized/completely corporatized dystopia that you and your favorite writers rail against.

            • 74mk says:

              I would rewrite that thusly:

              Scarfing down mini-donuts = I’m adrift in the already ubiquitous dehumanized/completely corporatized dystopia that I and my favorite writers (well, not Zadie Smith; probably not Joyce or Ford or Ondaajte either, though on balance, I can’t dispute the point) rail against.

              • mikeA says:

                I’d rather live in a Joycian world. I’ve not read his most famous book, but I’m led to believe that it is about monkeys trying to fuck footballs and other whimsical goings on.

                • nevermoor says:

                  Actually, that’s exactly what it isn’t about (although fucking there is).

                  It’s about incoherently trying to explain a relatively mundane day. Apparently there are those who believe the incoherence of the explanation somehow adds to the experience.

                  • mikeA says:

                    Well, that’s what you think, but such is the beauty of ambiguity. In any case I expect a spike in traffic to FK from revisonist scholars

                  • mjdittmer says:

                    It sounds like mike A may have been talking about this while you were, I think, referring to this.

                    I liked Ulysses, and I found this book hugely helpful in dealing with the “incoherence” of which you speak.

                  • 74mk says:

                    It’s not incoherent.

                    • nevermoor says:

                      If true, it is only because the author failed in his goal of making it so.

                      I spent two months in college on the book. It isn’t that I don’t get it, it’s that if I were grading a paper written that way I’d give it an F.

                      • 74mk says:

                        Obviously there is a more expansive discussion/argument to be pursued here, but since a) we’re up against the edge of the column, b) I want to go home, and c) I’m suffering from a donut-induced sugar headache, I’ll just say that if you are judging novels the same way you might judge a term paper, you should reconsider your approach.

                        Agreed on the discussion later part. On the other point, I mean creative writing rather than some sort of analytical essay. I don’t think a binding should change the analysis

                        Eh, you’re both wrong. Aesthetic objects — and the illusory subjects that populate representational art — should be judged like professional athletes or franchises. — @(‘.’)@

      • mikeA says:

        2. I’m glad the people of Boston were treated to a self-satisfied and stupid article this morning.

        • 74mk says:

          You’ve not seen self-satisfied and stupid until you’ve read skimmed the essay directly below.

          • mikeA says:

            eh, that guy has a reasonable perspective, although most of that is nonsense.

            I like that sports channels the group association impulse into fun. Feeling superior to douchebags in oA and Boston=fun. But it’s not good to the extent that it’s taken seriously, which is often (though less so in US professional sports). And there is much to be said for the idea that doing is better than watching, which is not controversial in certain spheres of life, but is in others…

    15. 74mk says:

      Sports fandom is approximately two steps removed from genocide. No, seriously:

      Not that I would try to stop anyone from root, root, rooting to his or her heart’s content. It’s just that such things are normally done by pigs, in the mud, or by seedlings, lacking a firm grip on reality — fine for them, but I am not at all sure this is something that human beings should do.

      […]

      Is life so pale, dull, and unsatisfying that it must be experienced vicariously in order to be savored? You might try reading a book, talking with your family, going for a walk, wrestling with the dog, listening to some music, smelling a flower, making love.

      Huh. I wouldn’t have thought someone who spent so much time cavorting with puppies and smelling flowers could be such an insufferable prick.

      As Koestler emphasized, the acts of greatest human violence and destructiveness have arisen not from personal aggressiveness or nastiness, but from self-transcendence in the form of seductive, mindless identification with a group. Think of Rwanda’s Hutus and Tutsis, Bosnian Serbs and Muslims, Nazis and Jews, Irish Catholics and Protestants, Armenians and Azerbaijanis, Israelis and Palestinians.

      I wonder what Koestler had to say about oblivious, melodramatic psychology professors.

      • monkeyball says:

        I’m unclear as to why reading a book, listening to music, and smelling a flower are legitimate human pursuits. Do they not pale in comparison to writing a book, writing or performing music, and growing flowers?

        • nevermoor says:

          My personal favorite example of this is that people with freakish physical talents can either be high-culture icons (musicians) or worthless fools (athletes).

          Why is the former considered sophisticated (other than because their uniform is white-tie)

      • green star oakland says:

        This is flawed on so many levels …

        … but just to pick on one, it seems to me that the genocidal examples are more about the identification (and dehumanisation) of some other than they are about self-identity. Now obviously these are related, but they are far from identical.

        • monkeyball says:

          I dunno ’bout the rest of you, but without my machete attacks on Bostonians, I have no concept of self.

    16. 74mk says:

      People are not nearly this nice to me when I wander around Pioneer Square with a “help me” sign taped to my chest.

    17. monkeyball says:

      EUPHEMISM ALERT: grass track on the T-Willie

    18. sslinger says:

      Too bad Wakefield isn’t pitching tonight – it would be fun to see how his knuckler would do out there. For those NRFKers, it’s hella windy here.

    19. andeux says:

      Any other fkwits going to the game tonight?

    20. green star oakland says:

      Pavano up – Wang’s only serious competition for pitcher of the month – and he’s already halved thirded his ERA.

    Leave a comment