4/3/09: Another tree-saving, newspaper-killing DLD

In 2005, when I was working for Safeway in San Rafael, I had the good fortune of getting some free-lance work with Media News Group’s Marin County edition.   Fifty bucks to write a high school football game wrap?  Great work, if you can get it. 

Later, I was able to make full-time (albeit-less-than-$14/hr) work out of it, getting hired first as the sports editor of Novato’s community weekly, and then as a sports writer for the Media News Group Vallejo edition.  But when I quit to move to L.A., I was looking forward to going back to making $50 per article with the Media News Group, L.A. edition.  Alas, that work hasn’t materialized.

So when I started up a high school sports blogspot for free, and even later when I joined examiner.com where they pay a cent per page view generated, I felt like I wasn’t competing with the newspapers so much as I was auditioning to join them.  Amidst all the voices saying Newspapers Are Dying, I keep thinking, “Well, they still pay better.”

That may be the case, but according to this article by Advertising Age columnist Bob Garfield, that’s only because while the Internet may already have caught and past newspapers in terms of audience captured, the ‘net still hasn’t figured out how to translate “audience” into “revenue.”   The Internet’s practically-infinite supply just far outstrips demand.

Yeah, that about sums it up.  As (my former Ad Age colleague) Rothenberg details, “Today the average 14-year-old can create a global television network with applications that are  built into her laptop. So from a very strict Econ 101 basis, you have the ability to create virtually unlimited supply against what has been historically relatively stable demand. 

So the biggest online publishers, with all their vast overhead, have no more access to audience than Courtney the eighth-grader.  And there are hundreds of millions of Courtneys, millions of them on Google AdSense, driving the price of ad space, down, down, down.

I always feared that the future of advertising was best predicted by Minority Report, in which retinal scans and surveillance cameras allow the bastards to follow us with their direct marketing from one monitor to another.  But here’s one optimistic note in an otherwise frustrated article—maybe the ads of the future will be entertaining and beautiful rather than intrusive. 

Rothenberg also acknowledges the problem of ad avoidance, as evidenced by average click-through rates approaching zero.  Yet, for all his economic realism, he stubbornly insists there’s a solution: “Better advertising.  More informational.  More entertaining.  More beautiful.”

Anyway, the article fails to contradict the general consensus that newspapers are dying too, so I may get old and grey waiting for my next $50 per article dream job.   

[Late edit by this post’s author, mjdittmer, dismayed that other than font-formatting issues, the body of this DLD has failed to generate a single word of discussion.  I guess this is where I should have put, ‘Anybody else have any feelings/experience/opinions to share regarding the dying industry, good or ill?’]

Sorry, enough about me.  How about a Ray Ratto column (about last night’s game, no less)?

And let’s see if I can embed video.  No?  Well, the preview for Sasha Baron Cohen’s next movie, coming this summer, can be found here.  Dump away!

 

81 Responses to 4/3/09: Another tree-saving, newspaper-killing DLD

  1. Razr says:

    I had already put this is in the older DLD but it has a better chance of being read here:

    The guys at BtB have done their predictions for the ’09 season and across the board picked the A’s to take the West.

    • sslinger says:

      That is a shocker. Even with the injuries to the Angels’ staff it would be hard for me to predict the A’s winning the division. We can hope, but I’m not putting any money on it.

      • Razr says:

        Absolutely. From their comments, they almost picked it out of a hat.

        • FreeSeatUpgrade says:

          This could at last be the oft-prophesied year in which a sub-.500 team makes the playoffs. On behalf of the AL West I feel so…what’s the word…mediocre.

          • Razr says:

            The Cards tried their best on ’06 ;)

          • andeux says:

            Whichever of the A’s and Angels has a better year is likely to be above .500. But probably not by much (cf. NL-W 2005 & 2008, NL-C 2006).

            And I suppose the other two teams aren’t out of it either, though I’m kind of at a loss as to where the 16-game improvement that the projections show for the Mariners is coming from. I guess some is better luck, and some is worse division rivals, but that’s still a big jump for a team that hasn’t really done anything to make itself better.

            • mikeA says:

              They have a very bad offense, but it is sure to improve substantially over last year:
              Johjima: 64 ops+
              Reed: 312 PA, 82 ops+
              Vidro: 330, 64
              Balentien: 260, 58
              Cairo: 250, 75
              WFB: 192, 83
              Clement: 224, 76
              LaHair: 150, 79
              125 more awful pas from Wilkerson and Hulett

              (Presumably) not having this breathtaking amount of pas from abysmal or abysmally performing players will more than make up for the loss of Ibanez.

              Same deal to some extent for the pitching. Whatever happens, it will be better than what Silva/Batista/Feierabend/Dickey gave them last year, and they figure to have superb defense.

            • Razr says:

              Bedard should definitely be better.

  2. Razr says:

    Oh and the end is near. Oh and I would like to welcome our Silicon-driven overlords.

  3. mikeA says:

    Based on a cryptic AN fanpost, it appears that pecota has the A’s winning the West, for whatever that’s worth.
    cryptic fanpost
    bp link $$$$

    Between that and the btb predictions, I believe it is not too soon to call the West for the A’s.

  4. mikeA says:

    Razr: I can’t figure out who you are. I don’t think we invited “THE” razor.

    • Razr says:

      Well I have been a reader of a certain side for a long time (probably since around 05-06) but I almost never commented. xbox sent me the link to this place and I’m hooked on kraut. To be honest, I have not been back to that site since.

    • Razr says:

      I do have the same username/id on that site, if you care to look it up.

    • andeux says:

      razr=bhaskar’s cousin

  5. FreeSeatUpgrade says:

    Anyone figured out what wordpress will or won’t allow html-wise? I’d like to do a DLD one of these days…can we embed images in posts? I seem to remember monkeyball suggesting yes in posts, no in comments, yet our DLDs to date have been pictorially bankrupt.

  6. Razr says:

    Is it just me or do the kill/hide comment tags only show on comments and not on replies?

  7. 74mk says:

    Razr [I think he means mjdittmer] —

    Preface to confession:

    I align pens exactly perpendicular to the edge of my desk, obsessively reorganize my bookmarks toolbar, iron t-shirts, throw away mayonnaise after two days, and generally suffer from extreme color-inside-the-lines syndrome.

    Confession:

    I really really want to fix the formatting on this DLD.

    Postscript to confession:

    Sorry. I’m trying to fight it.

    I took three laps through the adjacent cubicle maze in an attempt to ease the neurotic tingling, but unfortunately that proved counterproductive, as I was soon reeling from the onslaught of corny desktop backgrounds, binder-clipped piles of pointless PowerPoint presentations, and gold star-plastered certificates declaring 100% success on multiple choice webinars concerned with whether Jane was sufficiently senstive to Jill’s needs as a cross functional peer trying to juggle competing priorities in an[sic] rapidly shifting professional environment.

    So basically what I’m saying is that I am powerless in these matters, and sooner or later those extra spaces and font shifts are going to have to be eradicated.
    [edited by andeux]

    [74mk edit: I suck. 15 demerits.]

    • Razr says:

      So what you’re really saying is that prostrate myself before the WP gods and pray?

    • mikeA says:

      re: [sic]. They apparently hand out gold starred certificates pretty freely these days.

    • mjdittmer says:

      Earlier on, I was going back into re-edit it and saw that you were editing it or, as it turns out, restraining yourself from editing it. I just managed to fix the block quotes, but the last few lines are still irritating; maybe I’ll go back in one more time and see what I can do.

      Okay, I just got the razr/mjdittmer/andeux edit joke, and for me the funny part is that I have to consider the possibility that andeux really did go in and edit the above comment.

      [Edit: Andeux did do that edit, didn’t he? Well, still funny. Do I have to make brackets when I edit my own comment or do they appear automatically? Need to add them myself. Noted.]

      • salb918 says:

        You know, if Arak ever showed up here, he would be completely unable to control his urge to edit the formatting of posts. That could lead to potential hilarity. Where is he, dammit?!?!

      • Razr says:

        I was a little confused at that initially (the comment being directed to me) but I thought I’d roll with it.

      • 74mk says:

        1. Yeah, it was andeux. Or somebody posing as andeux.

        2. I did go in earlier, then realized it was a ridiculous thing to do, berated myself, and left. After adding categories to all the uncategorized posts.

        3. But still it plagues me. Even as my own gaffes bring the absurdity of it all into stark relief.

        4. I’m going to go spend $12.95 for a scalding Chili’s fajita plate, in the hope that I will lapse into a blissful bloat-coma and forget any of this happened.

      • andeux says:

        I couldn’t help it. My weakness is irony.

        On a related but more serious note:
        1) Apparently the author of a post is listed on the front page, but not when the post itself is open. That seems odd.
        2) I think sans-serif fonts are a little easier to read on a computer screen (although for some reason I have the default font in my browser set to Times New Roman).

        • green star oakland says:

          I’d notice (and been bemused by) the first of these … maybe people can sign their posts for now.

          The other oddity (at least on my setup) is that replies to comments are in a slightly smaller font than comments.

    • salb918 says:

      Okay, now imagine that the multiple choice webinars aren’t for something as inconsequential as Jill’s needs as a cross-functional peer, but rather for determining your suitability for handling and properly disposing of corrosive, toxic, and hazardous chemicals.

      It’s amazing that I’m still alive.

    • green star oakland says:

      Confession: I cheated on my workplace ethics webinar.

      • 5aces says:

        If we are having workplace confessions.

        We made a “study guide” for the company code of ethics training and handed it out to most all of the 600 employees of the center so they could get done with the training faster.

        • 74mk says:

          On our webinars, if you get a question wrong, you can hit the back button and re-answer.

          • 5aces says:

            Our training is web based, and when you are done, they show you your answers, and if you were wrong, what the correct answer is. Now the training and compliance due try to show due diligence by creating like 50 questions to cycle through. But that just meant that we had to have 7 or 8 “testers” the first day to get a large enough sample to get all of the questions.

  8. mikeA says:

    New format for baseball reference today. Very awesome.

  9. Razr says:

    Now that my identity has been revealed, I bid you adieu (for the night – I am on the other side of the world, if you need to know).

  10. 74mk says:

    Ziegler is chatting on ESPN as we speak. Lots of penetrating insight so far:

    JD (NYK ): Do you like cats ?

    Brad Ziegler: (4:33 PM ET) As long as they like me.

  11. mikeA says:

    So really the only explanation is Cabrera might whine?

    Geren is amazingly organized. He has a board in his office on which he has three weeks of games planned out, and what pitchers the A’s are going to face. He is a real student of the game, and big believer in the statistical end of the game, some of which he gets from a book called “The Book.” He knows, from reading, that over the course of the season, a No. 3 hitter is going to get 15 more plate appearances than the No. 4 hitter.

    “If you have a strikeout guy, sometimes it’s best to hit him second, not fifth,” Geren said. “There are more productive outs at the fifth spot. And did you know that the No. 3 spot in the order comes to the plate with no runners on base more than any spot in the batting order?”

    from today’s #2 dld

    • nevermoor says:

      Wow.

      How can he say that and then hit Cust 6.

      • andeux says:

        Yeah. It seems to me that when it comes to lineups and in-game tactics Geren manages very much by the book, and very little by The Book.

        • dmoas says:

          Clearly we need a sign for the outfield bleachers to politely suggest to Geren that perhaps following the statistical analysis that he seems to understand and appreciate would be good for the team. I’m thinking along the lines of “Bat Cust 2nd Dumb@$$!”

  12. JediLeroy says:

    Mia’s home. Things are great.

  13. green star oakland says:

    On the subject of the DLD …

    I’m more concerned with the passing of the substance of the fourth estate (particularly investigative journalism) than its style (print, radio, tv, web).

    Print’s inglorious descent into infotainment and bloviation sowed the seeds of its own demise, since this is precisely the stuff an 8 year old (or an adult with the range of an 8 year old) can do.

  14. JediLeroy says:

    Thanks, guys!

    BTW, what’s a brutha gotta do to get some krauthorhood bestowed around here?

  15. FreeSeatUpgrade says:

    If you’re at all interested in cars, check out some coverage from the 24 Hours of Lemons racing series, running in South Carolina today. It’s cars costing $500 or less, built and driven by cheating-hearted mechanics of varying levels of art and sanity, judged by bribe-taking costume-wearing heavy-drinkin’ dudes who mete out penalties like “The Chemical Ali, “The Sarah Palin,” and “The Taiwanese National Anthem.”

    Periodic updates by one of the judges, my bro-in-law Murilee Martin, running on jalopnik.com. Live video stream with occasional commentary here.

Leave a comment