DLD 03/28/09: Is this thing on?

Post author: salb918

As long as we’ve got a new blog, we might as well get the action started. Vince Shlomi, of ShamWOW! fame, has been arrested on charges of felony aggravated battery:

According to Shlomi, 44, on Feb. 7 he met a prostitute named Sasha Harris at a nightclub and pre-paid her $1,000 for “straight sex.” When they returned to his $750-a-night hotel room (those infomercials really pay well), the couple began kissing when Harris suddenly bit Shlomi’s tongue and “would not let go.”

OK, let’s get this thing going! I imagine it will take a while for us to find our rhythm, but we’re all friends here and it’s my sincere hope that any disagreement you might have with me will not worsen my incipient cannibalism.

91 Responses to DLD 03/28/09: Is this thing on?

  1. mikeA says:

    Someone stole this link from me that I posted last night in the AN dld. Possibly poppy, who replied earlier. Since I can no longer trust any of you, this will be my final post at freekraut.

    • salb918 says:

      It was me. What are you going to do about it? I’m an f’in mod.

      • mikeA says:

        I’m going to ask you to make me a krauthor, if you know how.

        • salb918 says:

          I have no idea how to do that. In the meantime, you will have to bow down to me.

          • mikeA says:

            I will pass on your invitation to make a height joke, because we aspire to do better than low humor at this blog.

        • monkeyball says:

          I dub thee KRAUThor mcaskin!

          But since you’re leaving anyway, I might as well smack you on the way out with this.

          • salb918 says:

            As we’re getting into the learning curve here…is it possible for me (or any other KRAUThor) to grant KRAUThorhood? How does one do that?

            Also, does anyone know how to give a post authorship? I wrote this post, for example, but it doesn’t say that anywhere.

            • monkeyball says:

              to grant KRAUThorhood, go to the dashboard; then click on Users (bottom left navbar). There will be a list of users; as each person accepts their invite, they should show up as, I believe, a “Contributor” — you can then check the box next to their name, and use the pulldown menus to switch them to Admin.

              Hunh … post authorship. Let me try and figure that out.

            • monkeyball says:

              Aw, nertz.

              Looks like it’s back to the virtual drawing board. I’m really kind of surprised how limited wp’s template/customizability/color selection is. The functionality and programmability is great, but …

              Anyhow, what’s our preference: pick another design template, remind everyone to announce who they are when making posts, or embrace the anonymity and fold it in with the flat-organization/no-hierarchy thing and just leave all posts quasi-anonymous?

          • mikeA says:

            I can’t read your link, because it apparently contains one of the key words that I have my browser set to block.

  2. salb918 says:

    The nesting looks ridiculous after a point.

    • monkeyball says:

      I switched templates midstream. Check out how the front page looks. I don’t like the font, but this template doesn’t allow font changes like the other one does. The date/author presentation and defined layout is a lot better, though — and the comment nesting is, while limited, much more clear.

  3. mikeA says:

    I turned off the avatars; looks like that doesn’t really save any space. I’ll turn them back on for now.

  4. monkeyball says:

    I think this current (as of 9:20 pm) template (“Contempt” … any Godard fans in the house? Where is xbx?) strikes the best balance between clean fp layout, customizable header, automated authorship posting, and readable/flexible nesting. Plus, the template simply doesn’t accept avatars. I vote for sticking with this one for a while.

  5. mikethev says:

    NEEDS MOAR WIDESCREEN.

    And Kraut.

  6. tdfsvirtuoustwin says:

    Why
    do
    I
    feel
    like
    I’m
    reading
    Chinese?
    B
    T
    W
    my AN
    user
    name
    was
    taken.
    Rats.

  7. veganryan says:

    This community just isn’t what it used to be. This morning, there were constructive and insightful conversations. Now, it’s just a bunch of n00bs, idiots, and 12-year-olds. {Sigh}

    (You guys let me know if you need any technical assistance. First complaint: Nobody has an 800 pixel monitor anymore!)

    • monkeyball says:

      dammit, the one thing i forgot in my email was a tech-assist bleg. yeah, whatever help you can offer would be awesome.

      heck, since you’re an ADMIN, you could just go in and fix/improve whatever you want!

  8. Apricot says:

    I just wanted to say that I’m above all this partisan bickering.

  9. Leopold Bloom says:

    Have left control Z in the ditch?

  10. monkeyball says:

    Hunh. WP’s threading technology is … questionable.

  11. jfer32075 says:

    Am I here?

  12. MikeTheV says:

    WP kinda sucks. We could all invade AthleticsClubhouse.com (I’m an admin there)

  13. salb918 says:

    Tigers place Dontrelle Willis on the DL with an anxiety disorder.

    Willis said the diagnosis came after follow-up blood tests showed something of concern. Doctors told him that the condition is treatable and that they’ll start him on a regimen.

    “This is not depression,” Willis said. “This is something totally different. This is something where they saw something in my blood that they didn’t like. “I’m not crazy, though my teammates might think that I’m crazy.”

    Is this for real, a la Grienke? Or is this a novel cover for acute suckitis?

  14. monkeyball says:

    So, in the event that sal linked to … what i want to know is this: did she demand “Shlomi the money!”?

  15. xbhaskarx says:

    can i post pics?

  16. xbhaskarx says:

    i just submitted a comment, yet i do not see it… :-(

  17. xbhaskarx says:

    Test

  18. xbhaskarx says:

    How come I can’t post new comments here?

  19. secsmaniac says:

    Hi all, I’m using my FARK.com name since doctorK was already taken (bastard).

    Here’s some linkage:

    Vasetomies are surging in popularity due to the poor economy. All I can say is, “Operation, operation, snip and tie, snip and tie”.

  20. the dogfather says:

    RiP Stirrups.

  21. xbhaskarx says:

    Okay, THIS comment will appear at the bottom of the page, hopefully.

  22. FreeSeatUpgrade says:

    I dunno if this is gonna work, as I like expensive thrills and cheap whiskey.

  23. jedileroy says:

    This thing on?

Leave a comment